Official tourism website for Cork, Ireland

Ian Wilson’s ‘Across a clear blue sky’ was written in 2009, inspired by Seamus Heaney’s poem ‘Horace and the Thunder’, written following the attacks on New York’s World Trade Center on September 11th 2001.

The Esposito Quartet opens this autumn season with performances marking the twentieth anniversary of that atrocity. Ian Wilson’s work is followed by Korngold’s first quartet, completed in Vienna in 1923. The programme opens with Mozart’s great F major quartet from 1790, famously written for the cellist King of Prussia.


Mia Cooper

Anna Cashell

Joachim Roewer

William Butt


Mozart – Quartet in F major K.590

Ian Wilson – ‘Across a Clear Blue Sky’

Korngold – Quartet No.1

Never miss an event or new attraction in Cork.

Pure Cork website use cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details about cookies and how to manage them see our cookie policy